Book Review: When We Are Vanished by Nimue Brown

17 11 2016

Some appropriate love for When we are Vanished by Nimue Brown (My partner in life and creative madness)

Meredith Debonnaire

When We are Vanished by Nimue Brown, art by Tom Brown

No corpse.

This is a book with serious depth. I am already fifty pages into my second read of it, because I just know that there are things I didn’t quite get the first time round. When We Are Vanished is a beautiful, quietly kaleidoscopic piece of work. It has the feeling of a fever dream just before waking, when sleep logic and waking logic meet for a few moments. It also has a wonderful, sometimes sharp sense of humour that runs through the entire book and that had me chortling to myself at more than one point.

The story is set in a world where computers stopped working. In fact, all silicon-based tech is now useless. Most of the plot takes place some years after this has become the norm, and everything is crumbling away and being reclaimed by nature. The remaining people soldier on through the new…

View original post 531 more words


Actions

Information

2 responses

17 11 2016
niffsoup

Yet to get my hare’s paws on this one….can’t wait, though….

17 11 2016
gothicmangaka

The gift giving season looms- I expect you will find a copy heading your way before too long🙂

Leave a Reply

